PROVIDE THE OFFICER WITH LICENSE, INSURANCE AND REGISTRATION IF ASKED.
Furtive movements inside the car may cause the officer concern that the driver is getting a weapon. This may be especially true if the
driver has a concealed carry permit. If so, you must tell the officer about that immediately. The best advice is to keep your insurance card and registration in the console, on top of other contents of the glove box, or another readily-accessible area so you do not have to fumble through documents for them. In that case, if the license and registration can be obtained quickly and without much movement inside the car, the driver could put down his window, turn on the light, obtain the documentation, and have his hands on the steering wheel by the time the officer arrives at the vehicle. By law, you must identify yourself. These documents will do that. By law, you must be driving with insurance and your car must be registered in a state. As such, have these documents READILY ACCESSIBLE before the police officer approaches. Once he approaches, he will ask you for this information and you will be able to give it to him immediately. Some of the clues that the police officer is looking for in this part of his investigation are whether or not you fumble these documents, provide the wrong documents, drop the documents, or do not follow directions in order to obtain them. Make sure you have these available!
EXIT YOUR CAR WHEN ASKED.
Exiting your vehicle when told to do so. By law, the police offer can and most likely will, ask you to exit your vehicle. You must exit. In Ohio, if you do not exit the car, you can be charged with obstructing official business for impeding a police investigation. Furthermore, the police officer can get you out of the car in order to ensure that you have no weapons for their safety. As such, politely get out of the car when you are instructed to do so.
Obstructing a Official Business is a misdemeanor of the second degree in Ohio and carries up to 90 days in jail and up to a $750 fine. Beware!
DO NOT RESIST ARREST.
Do Not Resist Arrest. You may not get arrested. However, based upon my 30 years of experience in prosecuting and defending crimes, you will get arrested. But do not resist arrest. Be polite and be nice. Resisting arrest in Ohio is a misdemeanor of the first degree that carries 0 to 180 days and up to $1000 fine. In Kentucky, resisting arrest is a class A misdemeanor carrying a penalty of up to 12 months in jail and up to a $500 fine. Be polite and nice and do not resist arrest. Let the police officer be abrasive and impolite- Not You!
Arrested for DUI / OVI in the Cincinnati or Northern Kentucky area?
If you or someone you know was recently stopped by the police and arrested for driving under the influnce or operating a vehicle under the influence, you need an experienced DUI lawyer. Stopped by the man? Call the man - Steve Adams at 513-929-9333.