Not being able to drive to work or school could disrupt your life in several ways. A suspended license defense lawyer in Mason, OH at The Law Offices of Steven R. Adams, LLC can help you fight the administrative license suspension and try to prevent your conviction to successfully avoid a criminal suspension of your driver’s license.
If this is not possible, we may be able to help you get limited driving privileges, so you can get back to work or school as soon as possible.
Call our office today at 513-929-9333 to get started.
The Administrative License Suspension and Hearing Process
In Ohio, you lose your license immediately if the police stop you and take you in for suspicion of drinking and driving. This administrative license suspension, overseen by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, remains in place even if they never press Operating a Vehicle under the Influence of Alcohol and/or Drugs (OVI) charges or if you beat the charges.
The only way you can get your license back before the suspension expires is by convincing a judge you are innocent.
Appealing Your Administrative License Suspension
You have 30 days from the date police arrest you to request an appeals hearing to fight your administrative license suspension. This does not give you long to take action, so we recommend calling us as soon as possible. We can represent you during this hearing and present any available evidence to show there is little merit to the charges against you.
The arresting officer or other law enforcement officers who were there during your arrest may also appear and argue their side of the case. Even if we cannot convince the judge you deserve to keep your license, we can get a good idea of the angle the prosecutors will take in your criminal trial and the strength of the case they have against you.
Facing Criminal Charges and Possible Sentencing
There are additional license suspensions associated with an OVI or other drunk driving conviction. These suspensions are mandatory in Ohio and are often significantly longer than an administrative suspension. This is true even for first-time offenders. In general, these mandatory OVI suspensions can last:
- One to three years for a first OVI offense
- One to seven years for a second OVI conviction
- Two to 12 years for your third OVI offense
- Up to a lifetime license suspension for your fourth or subsequent OVI
It is important to notice that repeat offenders could lose their license for a decade or more in some cases. The lookback period for this is 10 years. If you face a felony drunk driving charge, you could receive a lifetime suspension of your Ohio driver’s license, so it is especially important to enlist the help of a good license defense lawyer if you face felony charges.
Creating a Strong Defense Strategy Based on the Facts of Your Case
While it is difficult to avoid an administrative license suspension after your arrest, you can dodge the criminal penalties if you win your case. We will help you fight the criminal charges you face, focusing on creating a robust defense strategy that helps you avoid an extended license suspension. Depending on the facts of your case, we may be able to:
- Argue for prosecutors to not file charges or drop the charges against you if there is not enough evidence
- Get some evidence thrown out if the police made a mistake
- Negotiate a plea deal for a traffic citation or other lesser charge that does not include a license suspension
- Present your case to the judge and jury and try to convince them you are not guilty of OVI
Understanding Limited Driving Privileges (LDPs)
Even if the state convicts you of OVI or a related charge, you may be able to apply for limited driving privileges. Known as LDPs, these privileges would allow you to drive to work or school, as well as a limited number of other places. Before you can get approval for your LDPs, though, Ohio requires you to serve a portion of your suspension.
The state calls this “hard time,” and how long it lasts depends on the nature of your offense and your criminal record. In general, it includes:
- 15 days for a first OVI conviction
- 30 days for a first refusal to submit to testing
- 45 days for a second OVI conviction
- 90 days for a second refusal to submit to testing
- 180 days for a third OVI conviction
- One year for a third refusal to submit to testing
After you serve your hard time, we can help you apply for your LDPs. With this type of permit, you can drive only for approved reasons. This includes:
- To and from work
- To and from school
- To and from medical appointments
- To meet with us or your probation officer
- Other limited and pre-approved circumstances
Are You Looking for a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Cincinnati, OH?
If you are facing criminal charges, you need to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Please contact us online or call our Cincinnati office directly at 513-929-9333 to schedule your free consultation.