Cincinnati OVI Lawyer Serving Ohio for Nearly 25 Years
The legal drinking age in Ohio is 21. Driving under the influence (DUI) is always a serious charge, but underage DUI contains additional penalties and restrictions. While drivers under 21 constitute less than 10% of licensed drivers in the state of Ohio, they account for between 13% and 17% of total DUI fatalities. These disproportionate numbers highlight the danger of underage drunk driving. If you or loved one is facing underage drunk driving charges in Cincinnati or surrounding areas, don’t underestimate the severity of this scenario - or the benefit experienced Cincinnati criminal lawyers can be to protecting your future.
Operating a Vehicle After Underage Consumption (OVUAC)
The limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) for a driver 21 or over is 0.08%. For a driver under 21, the legal limit is 0.02%. If you are pulled over in a lawful traffic stop and tested at between 0.02% and 0.08% you will face charges for operating a vehicle after underage consumption (OVUAC).
The penalties for an OVUAC conviction may include:
- Driver’s license suspension for between 90 days and 2 years
- Retesting for driver’s license, both written and driving portions
- Completion of an 8 hour remedial driving course
- Up to 30 days in jail
- Up to $250 in fines
A second OVUAC offense is charged as a third degree misdemeanor and could lead to extended penalties including suspension of your driver’s license for between 1 and 5 years, up to 60 days in jail, and up to $500 in fines. If you are tested at over 0.08%, you will be charged with operating a vehicle while impaired (OVI). Depending on your age at the time of the arrest, the charges may be filed in either adult court or juvenile court.
Contact The Law Offices of Steven R. Adams, LLC by calling (513) 929-9333 for help.